Monday, February 23, 2009

Pictureless Update!

Yep, another pictureless update! Soon though, soon there will be pics!

Anyhow, the kids seems to be feeling better so I thought I would write about that! We have had a month of pure torture and VERY little sleep! I can't even believe how little sleep we have had! Audrey was the last one (besides me) hanging on to her cold and she seems to be ALMOST back to normal. She has been coughing very little, eating a lot and playing like she used to. She cracks us up! And she has been thrilled to be back staring at Uncle Bryson who calls her "glowworm!" Raleigh loves that name for her! Her sleeping still leaves something to be desired, but I think when she is at home in her bed we can worry about getting her back on track.

Raleigh is such a funny little guy and I have been having a blast just sitting and having conversations with him. Here is a sample conversation:
Me: "What does your nose do?"
Raleigh: Blank Stare
Me: "It smells. What do your eyes do?"
Raleigh: "Their go blink blink blink." He says "their" instead of "they."
Me: "They see. What do your ears do?"
Raleigh: "Their give me energies."
Me: "HAHAHAHA."
I have no idea where that idea came from but it was funny!

Then, Raleigh was taking a shower with me and he said, "Mom, I feel funny." And then...he pooped right in the shower! He hasn't done that for a LONG time! I think I made him feel bad about doing it though, because tonight I heard him telling his Uncle Trent and Uncle Jared, "I got ALL my poop in the potty. None in the shower, none in my underwear, just all in the potty." His uncles looked at him a little strange and just said, "Good." It was funny.

And this morning out of the blue he asked, "Mom, why does Audrey have hair on her head?" Okay, you think this is an easy answer but early in the morning I was caught totally offguard. My heart started pounding and I said, "Well, I don't know! I guess it's to protect our head." And then finally the real answer kicked in..."And to keep our heads warm." Phew, I saved myself on that one!

And when I help him with something, like putting on a shoe or holding something, he will say, "Mom, you are such a good helper!"

Audrey's favorite thing to say is still "Hiiiiiii" and she waves to everyone and everything, especially animals. When we saw our cats and dog again she would not stop waving to them. It was really cute. And she always has a smile ready and when she wants to be cute and shy, she will smile and then tuck her head into my shoulder. It is so cute! She is starting to walk around the couch and tables while holding on. Oh, and I don't ever want to forget this so I am going to write it right now! When I am putting her to sleep, she always plays with my hair! Sometimes it hurts, but most of the time she just gently plays with it! I love it! She also does some funny rasberry type sounds with her mouth which are cute! I will try to get it on video!

And lastly, I was laying on Raleigh's bed after we drove down to San Marcos yesterday and I was POOPED! But the kids weren't, so I was letting Raleigh zerbert my stomach. Audrey saw us laughing and crawled over as fast as she could. She wanted to do it to, so I let her, but instead of a zerbert, she LICKED my stomach! Raleigh and I were laughing so hard! At least she tried!

Okay, I have to fold laundry and get to bed so I will leave my memories for now! Until next time!!!!

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

One More Funny Thing...

I don't ever want to forget this because it cracked me up...

I was driving away from the Hen Party and I had borrowed Trevor's Dad's Garmin. The Garmin Lady told me to turn left and Raleigh yelled, "MOM, DON'T TURN LEFT! DON'T TURN LEFT!" Thank goodness I was at a red light, so I told him that I wasn't and asked him why I couldn't. He said, "Because I am eating a sandwich and it will slide off my lap. Don't turn left." Haha, what a funny guy. Then, anytime it would tell me to turn, he would tell me not to. Its a wonder we made it home. Oh, and he saw some hills ahead and told me, "Mom, don't drive on those hills. They make my wee-wee bump and it kinda hurts." Hahaha!!!

Oh, and I was driving by San Onofre and I told Raleigh that is where Daddy and I used to go on dates and hang out at the beach. By the time he looked over, we were by the nuclear power plants and he said, "that's fun mom, but I didn't go. I don't like those buildings. Will I have to go there? Maybe you can just take Audrey." I guess my memories aren't as exciting to him if they happened before he was born.

Crazy Kids!

Audrey got her first tooth this past Saturday!!! We were at the surprise "hen party" for my Grandma and Audrey was sitting on my mom's lap. Audrey let out a room silencing scream and that was it. My mom's instincts kick in and she reach in Audrey's mouth and told me there was a sharp little tooth poking out! I have been waiting for that little bugger to poke through for what seems like forever! Although now that it is out I am sad that her gummy little smile will soon be filled with teeth!

Also, Raleigh just got sick and has croup! It is the most awful sound I have heard come out of my sweet little 3 year old. He was coughing and having trouble breathing and swallowing so I got nervous! This morning he woke up with his cough but sounded better breathing so I thought nothing of it. Trevor's dad and stepmom watched the kids while Trevor and I slept (Trevor has been working 9-5....9pm-5am, and I was up all night with the kids) and when I came out Raleigh had a fever. He, of course, was having a blast playing until I came out and then somehow his sickness kicked in. Its wierd how that works. I put him in bed but the fever soon broke and Rals was ready for lunch and Audrey time. After lunch, his fever kicked back in so I put the kids (and Trevor) down for a nap. Raleigh slept SO long! I finally went in around dinner time and he was burning hot. His temp had gone up to 102.7 and he was so weak and shaky. I wanted to cry! So, after showing him to April (yes, I needed someone to agree with my diagnosis of a sick kid) I gave him some Ibuprofen and we had a steam shower. He started feeling better, drank some gatorade and played with Trent and Jared until bedtime. At bedtime I took his temp again and it had only gone down to 100.2, but he acted much better. I gave him another steam bath and now he is (noisely) sleeping. Well, he was but I just got back from another steam bath. His barking cough starts and it freaks him out, which makes the bark worse. At least I am needed!

Oh, and he is SO cute that he kept saying "there is a frog in my throat and it is dancing. The steam water will make the frog take a shower and stop dancing." What a cute little guy!

Also, another cute thing...

After he poops, I have to convince him to keep pooping because he still has it in his mind that pooping hurts so he stops early. After trying to bribe him into more poop and him responding "that's all," he finally says, "Mom, ask me if I'm sure" to get me to stop bugging him. After I ask him, he looks me straight in the eyes and says, "I'm sure!"

And, Audrey is now clapping. She is madly in love with her Uncle Bryson (unless Daddy is around. Trevor always get precedence), and she was playing with him on the couch and started clapping. It was so cute!!!

We also had a fun time visiting my mom and sister at the Hen Party and I got a nice break (after a terrible drive which consisted of a pee pee accident in the car, a stop with both kids at a gas station and two pumps not working when I was in high heels pumping my own gas. I definitely miss that in Oregon)! My mom took care of Audrey and Cris played with Ral's the whole time! I didn't know what to do with myself!

Anyhow, pics from our Stateline Trip and visits to San Marcos and Alta Loma will be up later if I can find my camera case, otherwise I will have to wait to get my cord from home!

Thursday, February 05, 2009

Bed Time!

I don't think Raleigh realizes how big he is because he is always trying to get in everything with Audrey. Bed time is no exception!

Beach Trip!

We packed the kids up and took a trip to Papa Dave's pool (aka the ocean). It wasn't Audrey's first time, but it WAS her first time mobile and as you can see below you can tell what her favorite part was...

THE SAND!!! I am pretty sure she ate her body weight in sand!!! Raleigh also got to go surfing for the first time ever! Papa Dave put him on the board and Raleigh froze...then came up later talking about how much fun it was. As soon as I get the pic, I will post it.

This is Papa Dave walking out with Ral-man.

Look at our cuties. Raleigh had to pee and I think he was holding it because he remembered us telling him to pee when he got in the ocean to warm himself up!

Here we are on the way to the beach. Raleigh wanted to wear the wetsuit the whole way there!



He was so cute...he was too short so the crotch part was down really low which made him waddle like a penguin.






The Buddies

Audrey and Raleigh have gotten pretty good at playing with each other. Raleigh tries to pull toys away from Audrey, but most of the time she doesn't care and will just move on to something else. She is a screamer when she does care, though! Oh man that girl has a voice! This is a sample of Audrey sitting by herself. I could not get her to do it at home no matter how hard I tried! I figured she just would learn some day when she wasn't so concerned with crawling! BUT, my mom sat Audrey down when we first got to her house and Audrey has been sitting by herself ever since! Thanks a lot Auds! Way to make me feel good! :)


Raleigh's Grammar

Raleigh always says a couple of things that I HAD to write before I forgot. Lately he has always been starting his sentences with "It's because" or "I'm talking about." You have to hear it to understand! It's hilarious! And it is usually after he has had a tantrum and he is trying to explain what happened.

Also, he can spell "R-A-L" in his name and he knows Audrey's name starts with an A. Pretty smart!

Audrey is sitting, standing while hanging on to things, pushing things and walking, she says HI, Dada and Mama and about a bazillion other things that I can't think of right now!

And we all just got over a HORRIBLE flu which we have spread to both sides of the family. There is no discrimination here! It took Audrey a little over a week to get over it and Raleigh threw up for the first time in a toilet and a bowl! It's the little things that amaze me! Also, Raleigh was pooping on the potty like an all-star until he got sick. After he got sick, we stopped his medicine and he got constipated again and got scared to poop. He is starting to go on the potty again but it has been work!

And I didn't want to end the post on a poop story so I will just write that I think I have the best kids in the world and I am SO lucky to have them in my lives! Oh, and my hubby's not too bad either, tee hee hee! He always gets overlooked! But we LOVE him!!!!

This is your pilot speaking!

Sarah would be proud of our little pilot! He got us safely from Portland to Ontario and made it smooth enough for his sister to sleep! I was EXHAUSTED after carrying Audrey, a PACKED diaper bag, Raleigh's Batman Backpack, a Baby Bjorn, blankets, and jackets, and making 3 trips to the bathroom (which was a long way away from where we were) but other than that the kids did great! Audrey has a SUPER immune system now because when Raleigh was going potty, the only place for her was on the bathroom floor...ugh...but she lived through it!

And THANK YOU Sarah for the pilot hat!!!! If you read this anytime soon call me on my call phone!!! This man looks official! Captain Halgren sounds good to me!

And Audrey had to try it on too! What else are little sisters good for except stealing your stuff?!